top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGrady Fiorio

Editorial: Halfway There, The Best of 2022 So Far.

Updated: Aug 7, 2023

Written by Grady Fiorio

Original Publishing Date: June 29th, 2022


The 11 best films of the first half of 2022


2022 has definitely been an interesting year for film. It's hard to have a boring year but with Covid-19 changing the filmmaking and film-watching process, well it certainly has kept us all on our toes. With that being said, it seems like finally, we are arriving at the return of cinema, the rise of the blockbuster! Sorry, Tenet. Big hits like The Batman, Top Gun Maverick, and even the run-off of Spider-Man No Way Home still playing six whole months after its release, are forecasting the upswing of cinema once again. It feels good to be back in the theaters. While not all have chosen to return, it brings an undeniable smile to my face when I'm back in a packed theater watching a film. To celebrate cinema's comeback as well as look forward to what's to come, I'll be sharing my top 11 films of the first half of 2022. Why 11? I had a hard time choosing 10. My list, my rules. I'll be counting films that had both a limited and wide release, so some of these may be festival films that may not get a wide release until next year, or only just got their wide release this year but were shown in 2021. Don't take the ordering too seriously, only my favorite film I'm saving for last.


11. Chip 'n' Dale: Rescue Rangers

Yeah, I'm surprised too. I really didn't think I would love this movie as much as I did but here I am. Serving as a modern-day Who Framed Roger Rabbit, this Rescue Rangers reboot was clever, creative, and honestly hysterical. This film is a lot smarter than it lets on, and I found its more adult-targeted humor really funny. There is also a good emphasis on parodying the history of animation from the time of the original Rescue Rangers run until now. As somebody who grew up around the time of Robert Zemeckisis mocap kick, I found the uncanny valley scenes to be a particular highlight. I know it's a cheap laugh but seeing Ugly Sonic and cameos from the likes of Randy Marsh in a Disney movie really made this movie for me. Out of everything in this movie the biggest laugh I got was from Batman vs E.T. This movie had me full-on belly laughing multiple times.


10. Memoria

Definitely not Chip 'n' Dale, Memoria was one hell of a ride. It's an incredibly slow burn and will really test your patience, but will reward those who stick it through until the end. It's one of the most unique theater experiences I've had. Memoria is a film that I won't be forgetting anytime soon. What hurts Memoria the most on the grand scale of the year is its pace. I think it definitely suits the film for what it is trying to accomplish, but it makes it a film hard to ever see myself rewatching. The experience in a bubble is transcendent, but in the larger scope is hard to fit into my own film cannon.


You can read my full review by clicking here.


9. The Northman

Nothing will ever come close to the adrenaline rush of Amleth catching a spear in mid-air and then throwing it back and shish-kebabing the guy stupid enough to try and kill him in the first place. My theater went absolutely nuts when that happened. Robert Eggars really embraced the intensity and violence on this one and it shows. It wasn't completely without its flaws. I thought the story was a bit too straightforward and lacked some character depth. Was it as good as I think it should have been? No. But that didn't stop this from being a badass Viking roller coaster.


8. Jackass 4/4.5

Maybe I'm cheating but I'm counting both 4 and 4.5 because 4.5 is essentially just even more of 4, and I found myself enjoying it just as much. This was a great theater experience. Being in a packed theater watching some of the dumbest and most disgusting acts of stupidity I've ever seen is just fantastic. Whether it's the parent who brought their kid who was way too young or the mortified old man leaving in pure silence, the audience reactions are almost just as good as the film itself. It's violent, it's stupid, and it's a whole lot more dick and butthole than I bargained for on that big of a screen. It's Jackass, and I wouldn't have it any other way.


7. Vortex

Gaspar Noe continues to make me reassess my life and fear death like nothing else with his newest feature, Vortex. This is definitely a new direction for Noe but it hits just as hard as his other films. His use of split-screen and long takes really cement his status as a visual master with a knack for emotional storytelling.


I won't go into too much detail here, but if you want to know more you can read my full review by clicking here.


6. 892/Breaking

Originally titled 892 but now known as Breaking, this was a really great film I caught at Sundance this year. Once you know why the film was originally called 892, it's a bit of a bummer that they changed it. Despite confusing titles, it ended up being one of the most gut-wrenching films I've seen this year, and a very impressive debut from director Abi Damaris Corbin. It is also notable for being the last film to star the late Michael K. Williams. I have a feeling this one will go under the radar for most, but if you get a chance definitely go and see this one.


5. Everything Everywhere All at Once

A24 has outdone themselves once again with their biggest financial and critical success Everything Everywhere All at Once. It speaks to the quality of this film when you realize this film's popularity is almost strictly due to word of mouth. Appealing to both arthouse and mainstream crowds, it finds a way to combine a more auteur sensibility with the feel of a blockbuster film. It's bold, it's brash, and it definitely doesn't belong in the trash. Everything Everywhere All at Once is one of those rare films that seems to check all the boxes. Let's just hope that it doesn't get forgotten by the time award season comes around.


4. Top Gun Maverick

While theaters seem to be crowded with remakes, reboots, and unnecessary sequels, Top Gun Maverick not only checks all those boxes but defies the odds in being one of the most badass and fun films of the year. You've probably heard it a million times by now but the Jet sequences in this film are exhilarating. Seeing these aircrafts blast at insane speeds while Hollywood stars try not to pass out, sells the realism in a way that other films just can't. While Tenet was a bold attempt at bringing cinema back, Top Gun Maverick might just be the savior that we've been looking for, unless...


3. RRR

Sorry Top Gun, but at no point does ole Tommy boy pick up a motorcycle with one hand and knock out a whole army of British soldiers with pure testosterone, willpower, and dare I say friendship. RRR on the other hand... This really was the blockbuster of the season and while it was a surprise breakout hit in the states, it still didn't fully get the love it deserved. With some of the most creative action scenes I've ever seen mixed with the most intense bromance of India's most absolutely built human specimen, RRR does not disappoint. Make sure you give this a watch on Netflix.


You can read my full review by clicking here.


2. Cha Cha Real Smooth

Another pick from Sundance, Cha Cha Real Smooth completely caught me off guard. This sophomore feature from Cooper Raiff really puts us all to shame. I mean this guy is only 25 years old and wrote, directed, produced, and starred in an absolutely killer film that has more heart than anything I have seen in a while. The story follows Cooper's character Andrew, who after graduating college he finds himself falling in love with an older woman. The film perfectly captures post-college heartbreak, and the struggle to move on even when all the stars seem to align, except for one. It's relatable and sweet but doesn't skimp on substance. I highly recommend checking this one out on Apple TV+.


1. The Batman

This may be a bit of a controversial pick, but son of a bitch I really enjoyed this movie. What's funny about this one is that it took two viewings for me to really come around to it. I saw it opening night and while I really enjoyed the film, I felt like there were a few elements that held it back for me. But after spending some time thinking about it, talking with others, and gaining new perspectives I saw the movie again. The second time around, while I still felt like the problems were still there, they didn't hamper the viewing experience for me. I was so engaged in the characters, the story, and that thrilling third act that I couldn't help but love this film. At the end of the day is it The Dark Knight? No. But damn I enjoyed this so much, and I found with more time, I liked it even better.


0. On The Couch

Okay, I lied there's one more, and it's a bit of a shameless plug. But hear me out! Back in 2019 my friends and I shot a feature anthology film. As you may have guessed, it's called On The Couch. It follows psychiatrist Dr. Braga as she balances treating a series of troubled patients while trying to improve her relationship with her teenage daughter. The film was originally supposed to come out in March of 2020, but for some mysterious unknown reason, that didn't happen. After two years, some festival teasing, and lots of touch-ups, we finally were able to premiere the film in February of 2022. We're currently in the process of getting distribution and are hoping for a proper wide release later this year. We also have another feature coming out (hopefully) in 2022 called Do Not Disturb. The film follows a similar anthology format but instead takes place in a hotel room, showing off all the crazy stories that take place.


You can stay updated by checking out the IMDB page by clicking here.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Flipside Reviews

bottom of page